Bill Gates: “DRM is not where it should be…”

Bill Gates

His short term advice: “People should just buy a cd and rip it. You are legal then.”

Amen. (Although I believe ripping CDs is in fact something of a contested area…)

I’ve bought exactly three songs from the iTunes Music Store since 15 August 2004: Mamma Mia by Abba (for my children), ‘Round Midnight by Thelonious Monk (research purposes) and La Paloma by someone I’ve never heard of (to be played at my father-in-law’s funeral). If memory serves, I’ve encountered problems with at least two of those tracks: most recently, I tried to burn a CD of songs for my children using the same machine I’d bought the mp3 on and iTunes refused to burnt the Abba song. Quite apart from such irritations, I’m old-fashioned enough to want to hold something in my hand when I pay money for it.

Via Techcrunch.

Leave a Reply

